ALERT!

- www.goihata.com
I have been informed about a “new” (but this is actually an old swindler process) form of ‘Nigerian scams’. These crooks contact Translators via their personal contact form disguising themselves as Translators or potential clients and their modus operandi is as follows:

A (false) cheque is sent to you but banks need 4 or 5 weeks to identify a swindling. The cheque amount is always higher than previously agreed (they would say it is an “error” or give you any other pretext) and then the crook asks you to pay the difference to another account ASAP… by bank transfer from your bank account or using a postal order. Next thing… you are trapped!
Crooks of this type can get away with it for a long time before being caught in the act because they use a number of plausible addresses and a number of Internet Service Providers all at the same time.

So, please beware of e-mails like this:

Sender IP: 208.78.63.210 [Port: 1885] or
Sender IP: 41.204.224.24 [Port: 22413]
———————-
Sender : Juliet Brown (whoever@yahoo.com)
Recipient : xxx (xxx@gmail.com)
Attachment : — —

Subject : Translator needed (URGENT REPLY ) !!!

My name is Juliet Brown and I am a Canadian translator from Prince Edward Island currently living in West Coast Africa and I was granted a
3-month contract to translate from English to French. I would like to know your fees to translate the attached project. Please review it and inform me if you are available and can take this responsibility.

I look forward to hear from you as soon as possible.

Best regards,
Juliet

Recommendation I was given to disable dangers of the internet? To check a freeware version for Windows which is available from Trace Route (http://www.d3tr.de/) to identify the origin of any Sender IP address.

Paulina Torres De Witt
- www.goihata.com

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.